Top

2016 Kia Rio 1.25 SR7 Review

this is test

Rate This Article
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...

Driven: 2016 Kia Rio 1.25 SR7 Review

We were given the keys to the Kia Rio SR7 to test and here is what we think about this city car.

What is the 2016 Kia Rio 1.25 SR7 all About?

The Kia Rio is the second smallest car that Kia have on offer and provides a range of quality motoring at a very affordable price. The model we have here is the Kia Rio SR7 that comes in at £12,445. The car is pitched just over the base trim model, the ‘1’, but includes lots of extra equipment that you would want, such as 15 inch alloy wheels, tinted windows, automatic headlights and reversing sensors.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-hr-17

The Kia Rio is certainly an interesting car. Looking at the SR7 from the front I like the bulging arches and the large headlights, which I think give the car a bit of personality.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-hr-9

The 1.25 litre petrol engine creates 83 bhp and will do 0-60 mph in 12.9 seconds. This car uses a 5-speed manual gearbox that will get the car around town very nicely whilst averaging a combined mpg figure of 42 mpg and will only be creating 113 g/km of CO2.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-ph-18

How Does it Drive?

Sometimes it is fun to just have a low-power city car and enjoy all the basic elements of driving. The car only has 83 bhp but don’t let that put you off. The 1.25 litre engine still allows you to rev it pretty freely and the low ratio gearbox keeps you shifting and moving about in the cockpit. But what you really notice about this is that the petrol lasts forever. This tiny 1.25 litre engine does do exceptionally well with regards to economy, which certainly makes up for the relaxed performance.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-ph-8

The turning circle on this little car is fantastic and I found myself able to turn round in even the smallest roads very simply and without applying a great amount of energy to the steering wheel. Being so small you do feel the bumps on the road are a little bit more noticeable than in some of the bigger models from Kia, but the ride is still good considering this is a very, very affordable car.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-ph-6

What’s it Like Inside?

I was left quite impressed with the quality of the interior of the little Kia. Although you can see that this car is designed to be affordable it still has premium options such as the DAB radio, Bluetooth phone integration, and air-conditioning, which covers all the basics for me.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-hr-7

The space inside is actually pretty roomy for the driver and front passenger, and when moving to the back you can still comfortably sit two adults in there without any major issues. Finally the boot space is actually a lot better than I expected, for such a small car you can get two large suitcases in the back of the car and when more space is needed you can also remove the parcel shelf.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-hr-4

The Experience

I was quite shocked by the experience of the Kia Rio SR7. It provided a fun and practical experience within its compact low-powered package. Sometimes it’s good just to appreciate things as they are; the car looks cool, it’s fun to drive and you will enjoy beating people around the multi-storey car park in this tiny car where others may struggle.

kia-rio-2016-sr7-1-25-hr-11

Verdict

The Kia Rio SR7 provides a fun and affordable driving experience and includes everything you need and nothing you don’t. The car is exciting enough to entertain any teenager but also has the practicalities in its five door variant to impress your parents.

2016 Kia Rio 1.25 SR7 Review

Video Highlights

Specification

 2016 Kia Rio 1.25 SR7 Review

  • Price: £12,445
  • Engine: 1.25 litre inline Turbocharged Petrol
  • Power:  83 bhp
  • Torque: 122 Nm
  • Transmission: 5 speed manual
  • 0-62mph: 12.9 Seconds
  • Top speed: 104 mph
  • Weight: 1,127 kg
  • Economy combined: 56.5 mpg
  • CO2: 115 g/km

Gallery

Author: Paul Hadley

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. .

http://mazda.niko.ua

shopvashtextil.com.ua/catalog/index/108-postelnye-prunadlezhnostu/0/132

https://showroom-kiev.com.ua/